Skip navigation

I have thought long and hard about this post…and I have put it off.  So sorry if this comes to your homes a little late this year, but I thought with Christmas right around the corner, and some of my dear friends ready to scream with insanity.. it was time to just bite the bullet and post it already…

Pressure…. expectations…..

We all feel them at times, whether they are said out loud, or things that we place on ourselves.

My house will never be clean enough..

My children will never be polite enough..

I will never be skinny enough..

I will never be organized enough..

smart enough, fast enough…..I could go on all day…

There are just people in our lives that we will never please.

This fall, I was at a retreat when I was given a lovely nugget of advice that has rocked my thought process.  It was as if I had never even thought I had such a choice.  The speaker simply said..

“There will always be people in your life that you will never be able to please, so what on earth are you to do?”

then she said it..

“Listen to yourself”….then accept what you have said, and move on.

“You said it..You will never please them..so stop trying, thinking that somehow you will eventually be able to change their heart toward you”

Really….I have that choice!  It was like I had never even realized that it was ok to not strive to please every whim of an expectation that was thrown my way!

I can, however change my heart.  To keep my heart focused on what matters.

God is the author of our lives.  He is the one we should be striving to please.  He orders our days.

You see, God has asked me to live out a very specific purpose.  It will not look like any other wife, mom, or friend.  So it is unfair for me or anyone else to place expectations on me to do things that God has not asked me to do.

Next time you feel those thought creepy up on you, making you want to strive for perfection in every area of your life, remember God’s calling on your life.  What has He asked you to do?  How has He asked you to do it?  And for what purpose are you to do such things?

Seek to please God….

So your house will be a home..

So your children will be children…

So your life will be evidence of God’s goodness and grace…

So it may not be perfect…and that’s perfectly fine.

4 Comments

  1. AMEN! Such a great concept to learn, still working on it! I have been reading a book called, Lord, Change Me by Evenlyn Christenson. Change me, don’t let me focus on what others say, what others expect, what I wish others would do… focus on my relationship with the Lord Jesus, growing in Him, letting Him change me. My children are far from perfect, my weight is never at a perfect spot, I need to keep growing in so many areas, the dinner is rarely perftect, but keep changing me Lord! Thanks again for sharing, and bringing into focus what is the most important. God bless you and your family!

  2. Thank you, I needed that:). I am a people-pleaser, even trying so hard to live up to my own unrealistic expectations. In the past ten years I have learned more and more to keep my eyes only my Lord God and strive to please Him…then all will be well…even wonderful! I am so thankful for how truth rolls my burdens all away!!!

  3. This is such a truth that we all need to recognize and because we so easily believe the prince of this world rather than the King of Kings, it is a truth that we so often miss. If we could just grab and hold on to the concept that, as believers, our identity is in Christ and believe the truth that He truly delights in us, we would stop the fussing over how anyone else views us. I so appreciate your heart, friend!

  4. Lately I ve been feeling like I have all this creativity to release but don t know how to release it.


Leave a Reply

