Skip navigation

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.
Ephesians 4:28-30

I Love this verse! It has revolutionized the way I have communicated.  I must say I have been around my fair share of negative folks, you know the ones who seem to be able to find the bad in any given situation and point it out to whomever will listen. Well, I decided I did not want to follow suit.  This verse pops into my head on several occasions.  Is what I am about to say wholesome….Is what is about to leave my lips going to benefit all of the people who are in ear shot of my words….Will it be helpful for building up others or breaking them down?

As you see here, I blog.  I also have a facebook account where I air many thoughts and randomness that comes to my mind.  Recently I have had some folks question the things I say on fb and my blog, so I must contemplate why…..why do I write about the things I do?  Well, when I look for things to read, weather it is a book, a blog or even an update on facebook…what is it I am looking for…encouragement..inspiration…something that will build me up according to my needs.   I enjoy sewing and crafting blogs, and many cooking blogs.    I also love reading about God.  What God is doing in the lives of others, Godly mothering, Godly homemaking, how to be a Godly wife, It builds me up and inspires me.  That is what I look for…

So, I guess I enjoy writing the things I choose because this is what God is doing in my life.  Sure, I have friends from far away places who want to be a part of my life and this is a great way to connect with them.  But I also write in hopes of inspiring others.   I hope that it helps a friend realize that if I can pull together enough energy to make a few batches of strawberry jam, so can she.  I hope that it inspires another woman to teach herself how to sew…or find a mentor to aid her in the process.  I hope that somehow, some way that God will use my thoughts to speak to others in a way only He can.

Now, this does not mean that my life here is perfect.  It does not mean that I never fall flat on my face and want to scream out and vent…but that would not benefit anyone.   I also in no way mean to make others feel inadequate, or like they are not doing enough.  The whole point in reading blogs is to find ideas, inspiration and encouragement.   I would love to see an end to the competitive nature we ladies have toward each other and begin to embrace each other and ourselves for who we are.  God has created us so unique…

So…here is the challenge to you…

Is what you are about to say “wholesome” ?

Are the things you are reading building you up?

It what you are posting on facebook  ” helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen” ?

Just a thought….a “not so random thought from God”

One Comment

  1. Great verse (of course, it’s God’s Word, so what do we expect right?! :0) I also love Proverbs 31:26 She opens her mouth with wisdom and on her tongue is the law of kindness. Someone once suggested putting that verse near my telephone. I think that’s a great idea. In this day of computer communication, perhaps we need these verses near those monitors, to help remind us about the things we say with our fingers and keyboards, too! Thanks. One of the things I value about our friendship is your desire to glorify God in the small stuff (which, as it turns out, is really the big stuff.)


Leave a Reply

