Skip navigation

I love the thought of having a garden.  I can just picture myself  in my flip flops and skirt ( a usual for me in the summer) with a pretty little apron in the kitchen thinking it would be lovely to have some fresh tomatoes to go with our dinner.  So I would head out to the back yard, Ice tea in hand, with a fun basket dangling from my arm to collect some tomatoes, peppers, and maybe even some berries for that new recipe I have been meaning to try.

I found myself in the garden today.  Plating our first garden ever.  I may have picked the hottest day to plant, but it did have a great breeze to go with the heat.  Well, maybe it was more of a gusty wind than a breeze.  Anyway, I set out to begin planting several different vegetables that I bought  in pretty little rows.  If you know anything about gardening, you know how much work they are.  I have never done a garden.

My first issue was with the hose.  We were recently given one of those long hoses wound up inside a neat little box, which is lovely when working properly.  Today, however it was not working properly for me.  My next issue was with the Preen, you know the stuff you put down around the plants to keep the weeds from coming up.  That lovely gusty wind kept taking my preen and whipping it around like a little flag in the hand of a two year old on the 4th of July.  After coaxing the kids into letting me take the sprinkler from them so I could wet down my hair once again to cool off, I managed to get 3/4 of a row of marigolds and tomatoes in by the time my hubby came home from.

He fixed the hose, and came over to survey any needs that I may have in my joyous venture.  He quickly pulled all the kiddos in to help plant the entire garden before the rain came at dinner time.  Before they stepped in to help I was wondering what I had gotten myself into.  I didn’t even have a clue what I was doing, let alone how I would keep it all alive.  ( I am still working on the whole “keeping it alive” thing).   At the pace I was going it would have taken me all summer just to plant the garden, no sweet  tea in hand.   They once again reminded me of how truly blessed I am to have such a wonderful family who comes along side me in my weakness and encourages me daily.

I can’t help but think about the harvest that we as Christians desire.  We want so badly to attain that close relationship with God that will pour out of us in our everyday lives.  We want to radiate Christ to those around us.  We desire to feel His presence in our lives, and see Him at work around us.  But do we really want to do the work?  Do we want to spend the time that it takes to build that relationship with God that can then radiate through us to others?  Do we see the need to cultivate His truth into our everyday lives?   Do we see it as a priority to maintain, feed, water, and weed our spiritual lives?

The fact is that though my wonderful husband and children can come and help me with tasks such as planting a garden, they cannot put in the work for me in my relationship with The Lord.  We hear it all the time “Well my family has always gone to church”  as though that has any bearing on our spiritual health.  True, my family can come along side me and encourage me in my walk with God, they cannot do the “work” for me.  I need to be the one digging in the word and taking it all in.  I need to be the one spending time with The Lord, building my relationship with Him.  Yes it can seem like so much “work”, especially when we live in a society that focuses so much on spending our time in other arenas.  But the blessings we will receive are worth the sowing….when we then reap those blessings.

One Comment

  1. How thankful I am that we have a Gardener to tend us; One who knows just what we need to grow; One who is never overwhelmed by the long growing season ahead!

    Can’t wait to see how your garden grows! I can almost taste the tomatoes! ;0)


Leave a Reply

