Skip navigation

There are some new recipes that I try and think “eh..maybe I would make it again”‘  Then there are times when it is a home run for all, or most I should say.  Gavin, he’s my pickiest eater of the bunch, even pickier that Matt.  However, tonight something strange happened.  I have been joining my “dear friend” in cooking through a slow cooker article from Midwest Living and I tried something fabulous.  It was so simple and easy I thought it would be a dud (because quite often lots of fuss= fab dinners!) Everyone loved this dish, and Gavin…well he asked for seconds.  He licked his plate clean not once, but twice!  So here it is, we will be adding it to our “Family Favorites” list…

2lbs of boneless skinless chicken breast

place in crock pot

then mix

1/4 C butter

1 pk dry Italian dressing mix

1 can cream of mushroom soup ( I know, I NEVER use this stuff, but trust me on this one!)

4oz cream cheese spread with chives and onions (I used Meijer brand)

1/2 cup chicken stock or broth

Mix it all up and pour over the chicken and let it cook 5-6 hours on high

Now, here is where my recipe says to serve it over rice or angel hair pasta, but the smell coming from my kitchen was screaming egg noodles!  Try it and see if you hear the same thing.

I cooked the egg noodles and mixed them in to the slow cooker and served with steamed green beans with sea salt.  Yum!

One Comment

  1. We had almost the exact same thing a few weeks ago! It was yummy! The only difference is I used cream of chicken soup and italian dressing because a) we don’t like mushrooms and b) we didnt have dry seasoning. I will have to try it with the egg noodles next time… we used bow ties 🙂


Leave a Reply

