Skip navigation

Mindless tasks often fill my day. Fold the laundry, wash the windows, do the dishes. I remember a time when those mindless tasks would take my mind to a world of hurt. I would be folding the laundry and instead of enjoying the warmth and lovely smell of fresh linens, I was suddenly reminiscent of a comment I had heard that week. A negative comment about the way I raise my children or the way I wore my hair, it didn’t really matter. I found myself hurt all over again by the comment, and often the person who delivered it.
So what changed? did I stop receiving negative comments and feed back? I can only wish. I began to take a verse in the bible to a litteral level.

2 Corinthians 10:5 (New International Version)

5We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

Take captive every thought!  I love that!  I see it as if you were holding a butterfly net and able to reach up and catch each thought, take it down to your eye level, and examine it.  Examine it to see where it came from, if it has any blemishes, and what the motive was that sent it.

The  ability to align your thoughts with those of our Heavenly Father is a daunting task at times.  But our Father loves us so much that He gives us a guide to compare and contrast them to. The Bible.  We can ask ourselves if these thoughts are ones from God himself?  If they are ones that He would like us to ponder, that it may spark a change in our lives somehow?  Or if these thoughts are simply not of God at all, and He has no use for them to build us up, or use them to develop us in any way.

We then have a choice, afterall, we took the thought captive, now what do we choose to do with it?  We can ask God to show us the truth in our hearts, and mold us in the way he sees fit.  We can decide that the thoughts are ones that are brought to our minds for a reason, and focus on aligning ourselves with the path that God desires for us.  Or we can decide that the thought is not of God at all and throw it out, to get caught and carried away by the wind.  Holding on to that thought will do us no good.  We will just ponder it, and possibly repeat the offense in our minds and hearts as if  the poor unknowing deliverer has said it to us time and time again.  It is our choice..Take captive every thought!

Leave a Reply

