Skip navigation

I realized today there are so many things I love about spring.   In the past I have never really cared for the season, what with all the muck and mud, and the in between snow gear and flip-flops of it all.  I think the joy of children seeing the first buds of the season, and feeling the warm sunshine fill the front porch may have changed my mind for sure.  So here is a list, of things I surley love about this spring;

I love the smell of lilacs….a smell that can fill a home with a slight breeze wafting  through from the back yard.

I love how Trinity calls out our names when she wakes in the morning..there is nothing more joyful to wake to than her deep little voice calling out “Mama, Mama” or “”Daddy, Daddy”  with anticipation behind it.

I love that two of my girls were able to dress themselves with a sundress and flip-flops.

I love that tomorrow we will find out if our 7th child will be a boy or a girl.

I love the wet leaves and dirty foot prints that have mapped out a path from the back door, through the kitchen and to the basement.

I love that 10 spring seasons ago, Matt chose me to spend the rest of his life with.

I love to hear the giggles from every room in the house with windows wide open and children circling the house while at play.

I love the crisp clean home from all the spring cleaning and de-cluttering.

I love sipping sweet tea on the front porch while thumbing through a good magazine or book.

I love that my husband’s voice can make even the most boring business ethics text book sound interesting.

I love cleaning the church while a fresh breeze flows through the building for the first time since early fall.

I love these children God has entrusted us with.

I love wearing skirts and flip-flops on a regular basis once again.

I love it when a bug lands on the picture window and Zoe tries to tickle his belly through the glass.

I love my new sassy haircut.

I love that my plants made it through the winter, and that I did not manage to kill them last summer with my lack of knowledge and care for them.

I  love spring cleaning. Especially the windows with the sun beaming through unlike it has in months.

I love that we can once again fire up the grill for our favorite meals.

I love the chance to reconnect with friends after a season of hectic family gatherings and cold weather hibernation.

I love a spring morning; birds chirping, kids sleeping in from being up too long because of the mixed up time change, and the smell of fresh coffee waiting to join you for some quiet time with the Lord.

I love the fact that Christ loved us so much that He laid down His life for us, and we can now live in a newness and freedom through Him.

I think it is official, I do love spring.  Never thought I would enjoy it so much, however I am filled with gratefulness and blessings!

What can I say, I am in love.

Leave a Reply

